Hemsby

Hemsby is a little seaside village on the Norfolk coast, its very near to Great Yarmouth and isn’t the most pretty or fun places in the world- but it has hosted some of the best times of my life whilst I was growing up.

Since before I was born my Nan and Grandad have been going to Hemsby for weekends away and have always owned caravans there, they have even moved there twice (but always return back to where their family are). We we not the type of family that go abroad but the caravan made us a very close family and everybody was always happy whilst we was there.

The caravan was a site called “The Newport”. It has sandparks and a club house and an amusements (everything a child wants on holiday). The best bit was the club house! The kids would dance and run riot while the parents drank a lot of alcohol. Like very sensible grandparents mine would drive up the club house (because it was a whole five minutes walk to the caravan) and get soooo drunk and then would sit either me or my cousin on their lap on the way home and let us drive the car back the caravan. sensible. It wasnt dangerous (maybe a little bit) but it was literally just a straight road that led straight to the drive way of the caravan so it wasnt really as bad as it sounds! But as young children we thought we was really cool driving a car when in reality we was just sat on our grandparents laps while they done all the pedal work!

The club house used to have a children’s entertainment section before the adult band came on. This would involve playing silly dance games, pass the parcel and of course people in costumes- my favourite was Charlie the Chipmunk. Looking back, Charlie was very scary looking but at the time all the kids loved him and he was often the highlight of the night. He would dance and sing (so much fun!). However, now, as a 21 year old, I am absolutely petrified of anybody in costumes- and it is all thanks to Charlie the Chipmunk. One day I won the dancing competition and Charlie was handing out the prizes (I cannot explain to you how excited I was to be winning and going up on stage with the one and only Charlie the Chipmunk!) but poor charlie couldn’t see properly out of his costume (or because he was probably very drunk as well- the man inside the costume is a known alcoholic now) and he smacked me right in the head, pushing me off the stage in front of everyone! I now hate Charlie.

One of my favourite things ever whilst being down the caravan was going on long dog walks with my Grandad and Bailey (their King Charles Caviler). We used to walk along the beach for miles and miles and I would alway get an icecream at the end of it (that is probably the main reason I went). I loved spending that time with my Grandad because we are so close and  I know that when he isnt here I will also look back and have really fond memories of our time together, even if I did usually moan that my feet were hurting after walking for 2 hours.

Ive also met some friends for life down there. Even to do this day I still speak to some of the people I met there even though its been ten years! There was a group of us that were down there nearly every weekend and so we got very friendly and would spend our days and nights at the sandpark or on the beach! There was me, Danny, Bradley, Shaun and Jordan.. over the years more people were added to the group but we were the originals. I see Shaun and Bradley when I go down there now and we all keep in contact still. In fact Danny has just had a beautiful little boy, its amazing how we have all grown up together and how different all our lives have panned out.. so different from what we thought would happen.

So there is a little bit about my favourite place in the world and some of the memories that I have experienced there, writing this has made me realise I need to go back there soon because I miss how happy I am when I am there!

cropped-tumblr_omk6meki4a1vmhiyno1_12801.png

 

Leave a Reply

